Skip to content

The desert's magic

Day 1: Oasis of Mhamid

Arrival to M’Hamid (using your own transportation or accompanied by us)
Welcome by our team to walk to the Ksar of Oulad Mhia. Visit the Kasbah Sidi Khalil then departure by camel to travel the surrounding desert vastness and reach the bivouac site to watch the sunset over the dunes and the preparations for the meal. Nomadic dinner to the sound of voices and musical instruments from the desert followed by an evening around the campfire. Overnight in tent

Jour 2 : Dunes de Chiggaga
 
After breakfast departure to the dunes of Chigaga, which are 60 km to the west by continuing the northern track which follows the Jbel Bani passing through Oued Naam, Bertam, Oued Laatach and the sacred oasis. Picnic lunch under the shade of palm trees and in the afternoon continue to the large dunes, which extend over forty kilometers in length for fifteen widths, installation of your bivouac, tea ritual after having the courage to witness the sunset on the highest peak, dinner and overnight in a tent
Day 3: Lake Iriqui and La Hamada du Draa
 
After breakfast, departure for Lake Irqui, which occupies the space between Wadi Draa and the southern fallout of the Anti-Atlas, in the provinces of Zagora and Tata.
The lake is characterized by desert landscapes typical of southern Morocco. In the near past, Iriqui has been a stopover and wintering place for many migratory waterbirds (flamingo, coot and geese) and has given the lake an important ecological character. The rehabilitation of this wetland is one of the main objectives of creating a national park in this territory.
 
The vegetation is represented by a treed steppe and by a savannah of Acacia raddiana. The dune mid-places are mainly covered by Tamarix.
'lriqui shelters a varied fauna represented by the Gazelle dorcas, the Barbary sheep, the Hyena, the houbara bustard, but also by a large number of reptiles such as the Lizard, the Ceraste, the Monitor lizard, the Chameleon, the Gecko and different types of snakes. 
 
The planned reconstruction and reintroduction of some rare extinct species from the Saharan fauna such as the Oryx, the Addax and the Red-necked Ostrich will give the region invaluable, picnic lunch at the southern limit of Iriqui and return by the southern track along the Draa wadi and passing by Erg smar and Lahdibat, dinner and overnight in bivouac

Day 4: Mhamid Kasbahs

After sunrise and nomadic breakfast, return to the village of M’Hamid on foot or by camel. Visit of the Joudour Sahara music school, songs and music with the future blues desert talents

en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrench en_USEnglish

Skip to content

La magie du désert

Jour 1 :Oasis de Mhamid

Arrivée dans l’après-midi à M’Hamid (par vos propres moyens ou guidés par nos soins)
Accueil par notre équipe pour rejoindre à pied le Ksar d’Oulad Mhia. Visite de la Kasbah Sidi Khalil puis départ à dos de dromadaire pour parcourir l’immensité désertique environnante et rejoindre le site de votre bivouac pour assister au coucher de soleil sur les dunes et aux préparatifs du repas. Dîner nomade au son des voix et instruments de musique du désert suivi d’une soirée autour du feu de camp. Nuit sous tente

Jour 2 : Dunes de Chiggaga
 
Après le petit déjeuner départ vers Les dunes de Chigaga, qui se trouvent à 60 kms à l’Ouest en empruntant la piste qui longe le Djebel Bani en passant par Oued Naam, Bertam, Oued Laatach et l’oasis sacrée. Déjeuner pique-nique à l’ombre des palmiers et l’après-midi continuation vers les grandes dunes qui s’étendent sur une quarantaine de kilomètres de longueur et une quinzaine de largeur, installation de votre bivouac , rituel du thé après avoir eu le courage d’assister au coucher de soleil sur le plus haut des sommets, diner et nuit sous tentes
Jour 3  : Lac d’iriqui et La Hamada du Drâa
 
Après le petit déjeuner départ pour le lac asséché d’lriqui situé entre l’oued Draâ et le côté Sud de l’Anti-Atlas dans les provinces de Zagora et de Tata.
Le lac est caractérisé par des paysages désertiques typiques du Sud marocain. Dans un passé proche Iriqui constituait un lieu d’escale et d’hivernage de nombreux oiseaux d’eau migrateurs (flamant rose, foulque et oies) et a donné au lac un caractère écologique important. La réhabilitation de cette zone humide est l’un des principaux objectifs de création d’un parc national dans ce territoire.
 
La végétation est représentée par une steppe arborée et par une savane d’Acacia raddiana. Les milieux dunaires sont essentiellement couverts par le Tamarix.
’lriqui abrite une faune variée représentée par la Gazelle dorcas, le Mouflon à manchettes, l’Hyène, l’outarde houbara mais également par un grand nombre de reptiles tels que le Lézard, le Céraste, le Varan, le Caméléon, le Gecko et différents types de serpents. 
 
La reconstitution et la réintroduction prévues de certaines espèces rares disparues de la faune saharienne telles que l’Oryx, l’Addax et l’Autruche à cou rouge conférera prochainement à la région une valeur inestimable. 
Déjeuner pique-nique au sud d’Iriqui et retour par la piste sud qui longe le fleuve Drâa et en passant par Erg smar et Lahdibat.
Dîner et nuit en bivouac.

Jour 4 : Kasbahs de M’Hamid

Après le lever du soleil et le petit déjeuner nomade, retour au village de M’Hamid à pied ou à dos de dromadaire. Visite de l’école de musique Joudour Sahara, chants et musique avec les futurs talents de l’école.

fr_FRFrench